As a team of trusted DUI lawyers servicing Camden County, the Law Offices of Jason C. Pollack, P.C. understands a motorist’s concerns about the state of his or her driver’s license after he or she receives a DUI. Although New Jersey doesn’t distinguish between a DWI (driving while intoxicated) and a DUI (driving under the influence), this doesn’t mean punishments are the same across the board. Today, we’ll provide a brief overview of what happens to your driver’s license in the event of a first, second, or third DUI in New Jersey (as well as other contributing factors).
While New Jersey categorizes DWIs as traffic offenses rather than criminal ones, convictions carry hefty legal consequences. If your BAC is at least 0.08 percent but lower than 0.10 percent, you can lose your driving privileges for three months. A conviction with a BAC of 0.10 percent or higher comes with a longer license suspension for first-time offenders, along with more severe fines and penalties. Depending on their discretion, a judge may require the installation of an interlock device for six months to one year.
This time around, a BAC of 0.08 percent receives the same penalties as one of 0.10 percent. If the second DWI offense is within ten years of the initial offense, your license could be suspended for a minimum of two years, as well as jail time between two and 90 days. You’ll receive an ignition interlock device upon the return of your license for one to three years.
Just like the second offense, a subsequent arrest for a DUI in New Jersey increases penalties yet again — with a 10-year license suspension.
Considerations to Keep in Mind
While a license suspension for any amount of time may sound like punishment enough, the sentencing doesn’t stop there. On top of not having a license can come a slew of hefty fines, fees, and surcharges, jail time, mandatory intoxicated drivers programs, and community service. All of these penalties can be made more severe depending on the nature of the DUI (driving through a school zone, weapons or open containers in the vehicle, unruly interaction with a police officer during the traffic stop, etc.).
The Law Offices of Jason C. Pollack, P.C. advises that no one ever drives under the influence. If you find yourself on the wrong side of the law and require a DUI or traffic violation lawyer near Camden County, contact us today.