March 17, 2021

I Got Caught Driving with a Suspended License in New Jersey! Now What?

Home / Traffic Defense / I Got Caught Driving with a Suspended License in New Jersey! Now What?

It’s understandable to feel worried if you’ve been caught driving with a suspended license in New Jersey.

How much is this going to cost me? Am I going to lose my license for even longer? How can I fight this charge?

Fortunately, you can turn to the Law Offices of Jason C. Pollack, P.C. to find a traffic lawyer in Camden County with the best solution to your dilemma. We understand what you’re going through and how important your driving privileges are to you, and we will fight to minimize the penalties associated with your case.

Here are some things to know about being caught driving with a suspended license in New Jersey:

First and foremost, you’re going to have to pay a fine of at least $500. That fine goes up to $750 for a second offense and $1,000 for a third offense. Additionally, your license may be suspended for another six months in addition to the current suspension. If this is a second or third offense, you could also face the possibility of five to ten days of jail time.

As you can see, these are not penalties you want to face on your own. It’s crucial to have an experienced attorney in your corner to help avoid conviction and to mitigate any penalties. Depending on the facts of your unique case, we may be able to persuade the court to reduce the charges against you and to speed up the process of getting your driver’s license restored.

One of the key issues we’ll dive into when discussing your case is why your driver’s license was suspended in the first place. There are a lot of reasons for license suspension, and while some are linked to serious causes, such as reckless driving, DUI, or being at fault in a fatal accident, many times, driver’s licenses are suspended for purely administrative reasons. For instance, your license may have been suspended for failure to provide proof of insurance, failure to pay surcharges, or failure to appear in court.

We draw on our vast experience as leading traffic violation lawyers in Camden County to negotiate the charge down and to avoid serious penalties. Contact us today if you need help fighting the charge of driving with a suspended license.

Author: Jason Pollack
Read more articles »