THE DUI BLOG
It's understandable to feel worried if you’ve been caught driving with a suspended license in New Jersey. How much is this going to cost me? Am I going to lose my license for even longer? How can I fight this charge? Fortunately, you can turn to the Law Offices of Jason C. Pollack, P.C. to find a traffic lawyer in Camden County with the best solution to your dilemma. We understand what you're going through and how important your driving privileges are to you, and we will fight to minimize the penalties associated with your case.
It’s never good to be charged with a DUI. In New Jersey specifically, you must speak with a DUI lawyer in or around Camden County because the law carries heavier penalties in NJ than it typically does in other states. However, despite how strict NJ’s rules can be, getting charged federally with a DUI adds a whole new level of complexity to the legal assistance you might need.
New Jersey has many regulations that govern what you can and can’t do while driving, as any DWI law firm in Camden County could attest to, but there may soon be a new law that will ban cell phone use for drivers stopped at a red light.
It's 2020, and we all feel like we need to let loose, but unfortunately, people tend to overindulge at holiday parties, which often leads to driving while impaired. As a DWI lawyer in Burlington County, we know the common situations that cause accidents and arrests this time of year. Here's what you can do to prevent them.
If you've ever found yourself in need of a DWI lawyer in Burlington County, you might be wondering if your field sobriety test can be used against you. Many people may assume that any failure of the field sobriety test will automatically result in a conviction, and with good reason. Theoretically, a qualified field sobriety test, when properly administered, should provide enough evidence of intoxication to support a conviction.
Many DWI defense lawyers in Burlington County have had to deal with cases of reckless driving, careless driving, and unsafe driving due to drugs, alcohol, or simply not paying attention. While these attorneys might understand the critical differences between these three charges, it can be disorienting for the general public.
As a traffic lawyer serving Camden County and the surrounding area, we are well acquainted with what a driver needs to do to prevent unnecessary punishments. While these following points may seem obvious, possessing them for your car while driving can prove to save you both time and money. Today, we’re going to break down the three essential things to have in case you get pulled over in the Garden State.
LicenseIt’s always important to keep your license on you when you’re driving. It provides a valid form of identification that could help identify you in the case of a tragic accident or emergency. However, it does more than just show who you are: it shows that you are legally allowed to drive in the state. In the state of New Jersey, driving is a privilege rather than a right. Having a license to drive is an essential part of travel here, and not having one will lead to drastic punishments. These punishments, dependent on the particular situation of the violation, can lead up to a $500 fine, 60 days in prison, and ineligibility to get a license for 180 days. With these sentences in mind, it’s critical to keep a valid license on your person to avoid being fined or jailed for something this simple and seemingly trivial.
The days of “business as usual” are well behind us, and we’re not quite sure when we’ll be able to experience them again. As such, small businesses around the nation have had to embrace new sales initiatives, take to virtual marketplaces, or in some cases, close their doors for good. In efforts to keep as many businesses operable and as many individuals employed as possible mid- and post-pandemic, the federal government has enacted the Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security (CARES) Act. This legislation provides almost $2 trillion in aid to businesses, employees, and families impacted by COVID-19. For those seeking government assistance during these trying times, it’s imperative to partner with a law firm you can trust to navigate complex legal matters and get the loans you and your small business deserve. Here are a few things The Law Offices of Jason C. Pollack, P.C. encourages you to tend to as you and your business move forward:
As recreational and medicinal marijuana use increases and becomes legal in different states all over the nation, there has been growing interest in a particular marijuana extract: cannabidiol, or CBD. Since it doesn’t get you “high,” some consider CBD completely harmless. Others aren’t sure what claims are backed by data and which are just a rumor. As DWI lawyers near Burlington County, The Law Offices of Jason Pollack understands that the popularity of CBD brings up many questions for motorists all over New Jersey, such as, “Could I get a DUI for this?” Before we answer that, let’s take a more in-depth look at the facts of and buzz around CBD.
As a team of trusted DUI lawyers servicing Camden County, the Law Offices of Jason C. Pollack, P.C. understands a motorist’s concerns about the state of his or her driver’s license after he or she receives a DUI. Although New Jersey doesn’t distinguish between a DWI (driving while intoxicated) and a DUI (driving under the influence), this doesn’t mean punishments are the same across the board. Today, we’ll provide a brief overview of what happens to your driver’s license in the event of a first, second, or third DUI in New Jersey (as well as other contributing factors).
First OffenseWhile New Jersey categorizes DWIs as traffic offenses rather than criminal ones, convictions carry hefty legal consequences. If your BAC is at least 0.08 percent but lower than 0.10 percent, you can lose your driving privileges for three months. A conviction with a BAC of 0.10 percent or higher comes with a longer license suspension for first-time offenders, along with more severe fines and penalties. Depending on their discretion, a judge may require the installation of an interlock device for six months to one year.
As experienced traffic lawyers serving Burlington County residents, The Law Offices of Jason Pollack understands that drivers may not be fully aware of all of their rights when it comes to receiving a DUI. From providing necessary information to being subject to field sobriety tests, it's understandable that motorists are wary of what they need to comply with and what they are allowed to refuse. Today, we'll take an in-depth look at a few parts of a standard DUI stop that can determine the degree of potential jail time, penalties, and exoneration: the breathalyzer test and the blood test.
As a DWI defense attorney serving in Camden County and the surrounding areas, the Law Offices of Jason C. Pollack, P.C. know that you may have heard a number of different terms and acronyms for intoxicated driving charges. It’s understandable you might be a bit confused by them all, which is why we’re here to help clear them up for you and offer a more in-depth look at other intoxication charges you may not be familiar with. One of the most well-known terms, DUI, stands for "driving under the influence," while the acronym DWI stands for "driving while intoxicated,” although there are instances where DWI stands for "driving while impaired." While all the language sounds very open to interpretation, the actual offenses vary from state-to-state. All of these acronyms aren’t interchangeable, as these terms can have different meanings depending on where you are in the country.
Many drivers are issued traffic tickets in New Jersey every year. Most of them only think of the ticket as a time waster and an additional expense, but they do not understand what the ticket means for their driving records or futures on the road. The New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission is responsible for adding and deducting “points” on your driving record, depending on the driving offense and its severity or repetition. As a rule, more severe violations will add more points to your record than minor offenses, and in this instance, more points is definitely not a good thing.
Under social host laws, adults who serve or provide alcohol to minors or people who are obviously intoxicated can be held liable if the person who is given alcohol is injured or killed. They can also be penalized if the person kills or injures somebody else. As a reputable DUI and DWI law firm in Camden County, we’d like to provide a brief look at social host laws in New Jersey.
Without a doubt, DUI convictions can be life-changing for those concerned, as well as their families and their friends. As a leading DWI defense lawyer serving Burlington County and surrounding areas, we help people determine, understand, and face the consequences of their actions. In New Jerseys, DUI consequences are determined using past offenses and blood alcohol content. Below are some tips on getting your life back together following a DUI conviction:
As a criminal defense law firm in Gloucester County and nearby regions, we understand the importance of distinguishing between a misdemeanor and a felony. The law treats these two convictions differently for several reasons. The purpose of this post is to inform and educate readers about the differences in penalties and punishments for felonies and misdemeanors.
As the leading DUI attorney in Camden County and surrounding areas, we believe that there is no question as to whether or not you should work with a lawyer when facing a DUI. Our expert legal team can help you to save your driving license from suspension, and help to get your DWI charges reduced or dismissed. Turning up to court proceedings without a DUI lawyer is not advised. If you want to win a case and avoid consequences, your chances of success are massively increased by seeking sufficient legal representation.
Honest Ways to Beat a Ticket Honest, Reliable, Traffic Law Here at the Law Offices of Jason C. Pollock, P.C., we represent hundreds of clients facing traffic offenses in both municipal and superior courts throughout New Jersey every year. Jason Pollock prides himself as being one of the most professional and reliable traffic lawyers in Camden County and the surrounding areas. Traffic tickets are a nuisance, as are the fines and penalties associated with them. That’s why we’ve created this post, sharing tips on how to safely avoid a traffic ticket.
Many New Jersey residents fail to realize how serious traffic violations can be. Often, people assume that their traffic violations will only result in fines, a suspended license or point on their license. But in reality, there is a wide range of traffic violations that can leave motorists facing jail time.
Driving under the influence is a very serious crime, one that can even land you behind bars. Every day, people lose their lives due to driving under the influence or being involved in an accident due to drunk driving. At The Law Offices of Jason C. Pollack, P.C., a leading DUI defense lawyer in Camden County, we have proudly represented those who have been arrested and/or charged with a form of driving under the influence in New Jersey.
On Nov. 6, Jason C. Pollack, P.C. held a DUI/DWI Seminar for New Jersey legal professionals. This program was approved by the Board of Continuing Legal Education of the Supreme Court of New Jersey. In this seminar, Mr. Pollack introduced attendees to current events that could affect the DUI/DWI field and change how legal professionals successfully defend their clients. Mr. Pollack is a trusted DUI attorney in the Gloucester County area and beyond. He has been recognized for his work in the field of DUI/DWI by numerous organizations, including Manta and AVVO. He has also appeared on CBS Philadelphia TV.
In New Jersey, drivers are found guilty for Driving Under the Influence (DUI) based on the Drug Recognition Evaluation (DRE) system. But how reliable